it’s not easy

This morning I went to Philly for our regular “Church Planter Community.”  As is usual, we discussed an issue pertinent to church planting (today it was “philosophy of ministry”); then we prayed together and for one another; then we had a round-table discussion that addressed one particular planter’s situation.

It’s not easy. That’s all I have to say.  I praise God for my brothers and how they are serving Christ.  Today, we sat and prayed with a pastor who is serving, wrestling, struggling, fighting, and wondering if the investment is worth it.  It’s not easy.  Should we keep going?  Why is it so hard?  What about my family?  Am I called to this?  What about the joy of seeing the kingdom expand?  Wouldn’t God rather me be productive in some other way? …these are the kinds of hand-holding, ear-opening, prayerful conversations we share.  Church planting is for very weak Christians – no wonder I find myself in such common company!

I guess it is supposed to be as Paul said, “And I was with you in weakness and fear and in much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.”

So brothers in the pastorate and church planting – I am praying for you today.  I agree, that it is not easy, but I know the struggles we face are from and for the God of glory.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “it’s not easy

  1. sockgirl says:

    This day I want to encourage you. My mother’s heart is blest. I can testify that our God does not ignore the groanings of His children. In West Valley Presbyterian, my son and his wife have found a safe place…a place where they can go and experience the healing of their Abba Father who has never, not for one second ever abandoned either of them, even though it has felt that way many times.

    Jim, thank you for persevering in the faith. Thank you for not giving up when the way is really hard. Thank you for being a weak Christian. I am learning that there is no other kind of Christian to be. Please extend my thanks to Alex as well. Your gentleness and humility is evident to all.

    Be blessed, be encouraged, and know that I will pray for you and your church.

Leave a Reply

