processing the gospel amidst the process of churchplanting

I am becoming delinquent.  God has been gracing me with deep lessons on his gospel and his Church – lessons that I am processing amidst the busyness, but not as much over the blogosphere!  I do intend to keep writing… (I apologize as if I have regular weakchristian readers who have missed me – prideful man that I am.)

an update on how I am processing the gospel amidst the process of churchplanting:

I am reading in Ecclesiastes.  Enough said.  If you have a Bible and time, check out the parallel-but-contrast between Ecclesiastes ch.1 and Psalm 104.  What an amazing difference in the heart and soul of one who has a God-centered view of reality (Ps. 104) and one who rightly conteplates the vanity/meaninglessness/emptiness/vaporish-ness of life under the sun apart from awareness of the glory of our Creator!  I am chewing on that as I prepare to perhaps preach through Ecclesiastes as our opening exposition series at West Valley PCA (launching this Fall – hence the craziness)!  What a culturally apropos book, with HUGE gospel flashing lights to give us hope!

The other thing I am chewing on is the nature of the CHURCH as part of the Gospel, not just as the collection of “recipients” of the Gospel.  God has chosen to dwell among a people that he has formed by his Word and Spirit – we are his incarnated good news to our culture and neighborhoods!  See Ephesians 2:11-22.  We are a central tenent and irrevocable part of the gospel message… an awesome biblical truth to rediscover and ponder in an age of increased spirituality, yet decreased churchiality (ecclesiology).  I will share more of this – thanks to some studying I am doing on “the Sacramental Gospel” – by Preston Graham, Jr., pastor of Christ Presbyterian Church (PCA) in New Haven, Connecticut.  Preston, you’ve got a new disciple.

Tomorrow (or soon thereafter) I will paste my July Prayer-letter to update you on the progress of West Valley PCA (a churchplant in the 3rd trimester, but still in embryo).

Grace and transformation amidst your brokenness and mine, your community and mine – solely through the gospel of Christ’s kingdom manifested in his church by his Word and Spirit!

jim

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “processing the gospel amidst the process of churchplanting

  1. ”I do intend to keep writing… (I apologize as if I have regular weakchristian readers who have missed me – prideful man that I am.)”

    *John looks around, wondering if he is the only ‘regular’ and crazy person who has email and text alerts whenever you blog, and has your blog in his favorites on his phone (where he is commenting from now) so he can check daily *

    Then John realizes Jim is just being humble, because he has dozens of followers!

    Haha. I also often apologize when I don’t blog for a while as if I have followers!

    You have been distant, but sometimes it is required!

    I miss ya buddy!

    Praying for the entire ‘Powell clan’

  2. Trey Kelly says:

    Jim, so great to hear from you man. I was talking to your brother the other day and he told me you were starting. So glad to hear that. Let’s catch up soon.

Leave a Reply

