Working on biblical exposition

In two days, I leave for a week-long journey to Chicago.  I get to see my grandma.  I get to watch the White Sox.  I get to hear gospel-centered preaching from my mentor, Paul Winters (Spring Valley PCA, Roselle IL).  I will be speaking to both the congregation and adult Sunday School of SVPC about our West Valley Church plant.  I will be meeting with former seminary proffs from TEDS.  I will be fundraising.  O, and I will be working on preaching.

One of the highlights of every year is attending the Workshop on Biblical Exposition, put on by the Simeon Trust.  It was Charles Simeon who said of preaching,

My endeavor is to bring out of Scripture what is there, and not to thrust in what I think might be there.  I have a great jealousy on this head – never to speak more or less than I believe to be the mind of the Spirit in the passage I am expounding.

That is a high calling.  The workshop this year will be focusing on the minor prophets – which is exhilirating, because I have thought about beginning our church plant sermon series with a minor prophet.  God knows what is in store for me to learn this week.  I certainly need the exposure to excellent biblical exposition.  I certainly need some peer review of my own stuff.  I certainly need to begin preparing to be back in the saddle (pulpit) on a weekly basis. I can honestly say about this ‘business trip’ – that it will be a pleasure next week to “go to work.”  It is through weeks like this that I discover that God does POWERFUL things when his servants submit our weak and pithy efforts to his disposal!

Thanks be to God for his LIVING Word that interprets us and keeps giving us the GOOD stuff for life and kingdom, here and forever.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Working on biblical exposition

  1. Alex says:

    I’m sorry… you lost me after “I get to watch the White Sox”

    🙂

  2. Dennis Carroll says:

    Jim,
    Enjoy your multi-faceted journey! I’m sure it will be a blessing to explore the minor prophets and rediscover their insights. As a graduate of LSTC (Luth Schl of Theol at Chicago) I envy your opportunity to return to the Windy City.
    Dennis

  3. Dude… are you going to a White Sox game or watching on TV?

    If your going…give Gavin Floyd and Jim Thome a hug.
    If not….dang.

    Either way, enjoy your time. Pennsylvania will miss you. Cornerstone will miss you. BUT, I just know you are going to bless the people you come into contact with 🙂

Leave a Reply

