vulnerability versus transparency

Let me share with you something that I was recently encouraged to read.  I did not write this, but it is uncanny in its autobiographical sound…  It IS what I have been quietly trying to think.

“Over the years I have found myself actually receiving recognition and praise for my transparency.  Transparency in itself, however, is not necessarily a positive attribute.  Transparency could merely be an attempt to selectively expose weaknesses that you are comfortable exposing because it actually brings you into a positive light – almost with a sense of false humility.  Even if your motives for being transparent are noble, it is not a place in which to reside.  Transparency must be tranformed into vulnerability.  Vulnerability is coming under another’s influence by submitting to the love they offer.  When we are willing to be vulnerable, we choose to trust God and others with our lives.  We cannot grow fully in Christ apart from community.  No man is an island.”

7 thoughts on “vulnerability versus transparency

  1. Bryce says:

    Hey Jim, Bryce from Assessment here. I came across your blog somehow.

    Anyhow, thanks for sharing this quote. I’ve been thinking similar thoughts lately. This is really helpful and challenging for me.

    Peace.

  2. weakchristian says:

    Thanks Bryce. Kori and I are often conversing about Assessment friends… and lessons learned. I just visited your blog as well and read your assessment observations. God is at work in all of us my friend. Keep me posted on things in CA.

    Hello to Ashley.
    Jim

  3. I’ve recently learned how I desire to be open and share with others the sins that I feel other people also struggle with, but have found it so hard to desire to share the sins that I don’t feel like people struggle with. I’ve had a hard time coming to grips with the fact that most people will not judge me based on these things, because I am so judgmental of others.

  4. Nancy says:

    Hey, Jim! This is Mom reading your blog as I so often do. 🙂 What a great quote! I have always been big, as you know, on the transparency part. What are you reading or who are you quoting?

    New prayer – Lord, help me to be vulnerable.

    Thanks for sharing.

    3 days and praying…….

  5. Jim, your mom is wise. I see where you get it 🙂

  6. Bryce says:

    Hey Jim, yeah we talk about Assessment friends and things learned quite often as well. It’s looking likely that we will be leaving CA, at least for a while. Both my apprenticeship possibilities in CA have fallen through this week. We’ll see what happens.

  7. weakchristian says:

    With the help of Susan, I was able to locate the data on the above quote:
    Mark Hamby, Lamplighter Magazine, 2002 Issue IV.

    Thanks Susan for passing it on to me.
    jp

Leave a Reply

