worship from a posture of poverty

Today I am reminded that I have been created as a worshiping being.  I have been created to worship the God who has revealed himself as worthy of praise and glory.  Isaiah 43:7 speaks of the you and me, those among God’s people – as being “created for his glory.”  And yet, here I sit – in my office, papers scattered and my brain distracted, my time already scheduled…  and I wonder how?  How can I offer worship that is acceptable to God right now?  What is prayerful worship in a moment like this in a place like this at a time like this?  It brought me to Luke 18 – Christ’s parable about acceptable worship/prayer and self-understanding.  It hits me like a brick – I can always worship when I don’t know how to worship… when I don’t know what to say… when I am weak and tired and worn out… when my life looks like anything but an organized church servicee (or pastor for that matter)!  I can always worship from a posture of poverty.  So, today I worship God not by bringing the riches of my unproductive life… I worship by bringing my awareness of my spiritual poverty to his throne.  And for a second, I might actually be grasping grace-dependent gospel-centered worship from my posture of poverty (even from my office of messy papers, messy stories, messy situations, and messy me).   

May your worship be beautiful right now in your place… from your position of weakness.  May you enjoy the posture of poverty that begs us to worship God only through Christ.

“Two men went up into the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector.  11 The Pharisee, standing by himself, prayed thus: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax collector. 12 I fast twice a week; I give tithes of all that I get.’

13 But the tax collector, standing far off, would not even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’ 14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified, rather than the other. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but the one who humbles himself will be exalted.”

One thought on “worship from a posture of poverty

  1. If we are weak people, why is that a lot of people outside of our congregation don’t like to be around “Christians”? Can we be as vulnerable to each other that this weakness will attract others to live a true spirituality? Can my weakness be an instrument for others to get close to Abba?

Leave a Reply

