gospel preaching

Yesterday I went to a church planting seminar that focused on gospel centered preaching.  If you read weakchristian regularly, you’ll recall that a few weeks ago, I posted about my philosophy of preaching.  Surprisingly – I received many comments evidencing your intrigue and/or thanksgiving for the post (even though preaching is not something most of you are passionate about).  So, that being the case, I figured I would pass on some ‘sermonic’ gospel-preaching quotes I received yesterday.  It helps me to type them out – go figure, my fingers help my memory.  Enjoy.

___________________________________

From a sermon by C. H. Spurgeon: 

” A young man had been preaching in the presence of a venerable divine, and after he had done  he went to the old minister, and said, ‘What did you think of my sermon?’ 

‘A very poor sermon indeed,’ said he.

‘A poor sermon?’ said the young man, ‘ it took me a long time to study it.’

‘Ay, no doubt of it.’

‘Why, did you not think my explanation of the text a very good one?’

‘Oh yes,’ said the old preacher, ‘very good indeed.’

‘Well, then, why did you say it is a poor sermon?  Didn’t you think the metaphors were appropriate and the arguments conclusive?’

‘Yes, they were very good as far as that goes, but still it was a poor sermon.’

‘Will you tell me why it was a poor sermon?’

‘Because,’ said he, ‘there was no Christ in it.’

‘Well, said the young man, ‘Christ was not in the text’; we are not to be preaching Christ always, we must preach what is in the text.’  So the old man said, ‘Don’t you know young man that from every town, and every village, and every hamlet in England, wherever it may be, there is a road to London?’

‘Yes,’ said the young man.

‘Ah!’ said the old divine, ‘and so it is from every text in Scripture, there is a road to the metropolis of the Scriptures, that is Christ.  And my dear brother, your business when you get to a text, is to say, ‘ Now what is the road to Christ?’ and then preach a sermon, running along the road towards the great metropolis – Christ.    And,’ said he, ‘I have never yet found a text that had not got a road to Christ in it, and if I ever do find one that has not a road to Christ in it, I will make one; I will go over hedge and ditch but I would get at my Master, for the sermon cannot do any good unless there is a savour of Christ in it.’ 

Tim Keller: “The Bible’s purpose is not so much ot show you how to live a good life.  The Bible’s purpose is to show you how God’s grace breaks into your life against your will and saves you from the sin and brokenness otherwise you would never be able to overcome… religion is ‘if you obey, then you will be accepted.’  But the gospel is, ‘if you are absolutely accepted [by God in Christ], only then will you ever begin to obey.’  Those are two utterly different things.  Every page of the Bible shows the difference.” 

Steve Brown:  “If I have to tell people either how to be good or how to love Jesus, I don’t even question which to say.  If they love Him and mess up everything else, it’s no great loss.  If they don’t love Him and do everything else right, they can lose eternity.” 

C. H. Spurgeon:  George Whitefield and John Wesley may have preached the gospel better than I, but they could not preach a better gospel.” 

Martin Luther:  “Preach the gospel to yourself every day, because you forget it every day.” 

Jerry Bridges: “When I understand the gospel, I understand that there is nothing I can do to make God love me less, or to obligate God to love me more.” 

D. Martin Lloyd-Jones:   “It does not matter… if you are guilty of murder as well as every other vile sin, it does not matter from the standpoint of being justified before God.  You are no more hopeless than the most respectable person in the world.  Do you believe that? 

Leave a Reply

