a culture crying out for the gospel

All truth is God’s truth.  Do we believe that to the extent that we look for the truth of the gospel in all things?  One of my favorite places to look for God’s truth is in the cultural mediums of our society.  For example – music (or the whole broadway play bit is another post).  One of my joys is being free in Christ to cautiously engage the music our culture promotes… and what I often find is that the gospel is everywhere in the secular music scene.  Not so much in the words of the lyrics but in the answer to the life-questions the lyrics prompt.  It never ceases to amaze me how keenly our culture knows that it is in desparate need.  Even more, the more authentic and honest the lyrics – the more the albums sell (if its good music).  I think we could go so far as to say that the subliminal articulation of gospel-need is what sells most culturally hip tunes.  Seriously. 

Check out the lyrics of “Wreck of the Day” by Anna Nalick.

“Wreck Of The Day”

Driving away from the wreck of the day
And the light’s always red in the rear-view
Desperately close to a coffin of hope
I’d cheat destiny just to be near you
If this is giving up, then I’m giving up
If this is giving up, then I’m giving up, giving up
On love, On love

Driving away from the wreck of the day
And I’m thinking ’bout calling on Jesus
‘Cause love doesn’t hurt so I know I’m not falling in love
I’m just falling to pieces
And if this is giving up then I’m giving up
If this is giving up then I’m giving up, giving up
On love, On love
And maybe I’m not up for being a victim of love
When all my resistance will never be distance enough

Driving away from the wreck of the day
And it’s finally quiet in my head
Driving alone, finally on my way home to the comfort of my bed
And if this is giving up, then I’m giving up
If this is giving up, then I’m giving up, giving up
On love, On love

OK, so its a song about love gone bad.  But is that a weakness that connects?  Yep. In relationships gone bad, how weak do we get: “desperately close to a coffin of hope.”  In layman’s terms what does most of our world feel numerous times a day?  “If this is giving up, then I’m giving up.”

And then she penned some lyrics that overtly scream gospel.  The gospel in weakness. 

“Driving away from the wreck of the day and I’m thinking ’bout calling on Jesus.  ‘Cause love doesn’t hurt so I know I’m not falling in love I’m just falling to pieces.”  All truth is God’s truth because that is the gospel.  When we are weak and falling to pieces, we call on Jesus.  To Anna Nalick, what is it to call on Jesus?  It is not a repeat of the cycle of love… it’s not about falling in love at all – just knowing where to turn when we have fallen to pieces.   That’s the gospel, and people in our world get to hear it whenever they listen to Nalick’s album that begins with her famous song “Breathe” (which by the way, screams gospel as well).

All truth is God’s truth.  Listen for it in our culture’s cries (and in the process enjoy the music).

One thought on “a culture crying out for the gospel

  1. Rebekah says:

    This is a much needed reminder for me. Great post!

Leave a Reply

