the wilderness of relatability

Long posts tire you, I’m sure.  This will be short.

Mark 1:9-13 astounds me.  When I am in the wilderness of weakness and temptation (or just fed up with the pain and suffering and brokenness around me), I feel as though I have been allured by Satan or the secular culture or whatever…  which is why it beautifully shocked me that Christ, after his baptism (You are my beloved Son, with you I am well pleased), was immediately driven out into the wilderness of life by the Spirit.  God did not tempt Christ, nor does he tempt us (James 1).  BUT, God the Father drove our Savior the Son to the place of temptation – the wilderness of relatability.  Yes, we serve a High Priest who can sympathize with our weakness, because he was tempted as we are, yet without sin (Hebrews 4:15).  Where was he tempted?  The wilderness of a weak world filled with sin and pain and temporary idols.   I can relate to that wilderness.  Surely you can relate to that wilderness.  Christ has related to us.  That kind of changes the wilderness, at least for me.

Here’s a quote I got from one of your comments: You will never find Jesus so precious as when the world is one vast howling wilderness.  Then, he is like a rose blooming in the midst of the desolation, a rock rising above the storm.  – Robert Murray McCheyne

He only blooms in the desolate wilderness because he has been there – driven by the Spirit to the wilderness of relatability.  Thanks be to God.

One thought on “the wilderness of relatability

  1. Rebekah says:

    Being fed up with the pain, the suffering, and the brokeness around me has brought me to my knees recently. I know exactly what you write about, and I’m so thankful for Jesus. Great post.

Leave a Reply

