weakness as smallness

Yesterday brotherjohn wrote something interesting (not that sister Sarah didn’t).  He commented (You Write… post)on his struggle to live out the strength of Christ before others when he lives a ‘put together’, not so weak life.  I can only tell those of you who don’t know my brother that I have always felt his non-weak life to be evidence of the gospel and not of his pride/performance.  But still, when we are not visibly weak, how do we show forth the strength of Christ?  What weaknesses do we have to boast in?  As brotherJ said, we know we can’t sin more (in weakness) so that grace may about more (in the strength of Christ)! 

Well, I was reading in Job this morning.  Not for brotherJ but for my own need to consider and reconsider and reconsider and reconsider the magnitude of my Creator and Redeemer.  In so doing, I was struck by something.  First, when God responded to Job in chapters 38-41, he said nothing about Job’s righteousness or unrighteousness.  Nothing.  Interpretation: he said nothing about Job’s weakness as being a sin issue.  That’s what his friends had errantly been saying the entirety of the conversation.  So we would expect it to have been the first thing God responded to – the whole righteousness issue!  But rather than speaking to Job’s weakness in sin, God spoke to Job’s smallness!  “Where were you…  Where were you…  Where were you…” 

It hit me just as my “small” 3 year old was walking down the stairs.  My weakness (and yours brotherJ) has just as much to do with my smallness than with my sin.  Probably more.  In fact, I like Job, need to be brought to full repentance daily  about who I really am.  I am small and weak before the Almighty God.  Consider Job’s repentance:

I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.  “Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?’  Therefore, I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.  Hear and I will speak; I will question you, and you make it known to me.  I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eyes see you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes. 

Woah.  I am so used to only repenting of my sin.  I am so prone to cataloguing my weakness as only being weakness in sin.  But what a model is Job.  He was brought to full repentance of his weakness not because he looked upon his sin in a microscope, but because he saw the scope of his smallness before God.  That has always been and will always be my weakness that I can showcase before others (in a world where people are big). 

So, may my prayers change.  May I repent of smallness.  Then I repent of sin.  Throught it all I am repenting of weakness.  Thank you God for speaking through your Word.

2 thoughts on “weakness as smallness

  1. Nathanael says:

    [smile]

  2. Rebekah says:

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing what the Holy Spirit is teaching you, and for answering a great question by brotherj.

Leave a Reply

